Otherworld by Jason Segel & Kirsten Miller – Book Review

Otherworld by Jason Segel & Kirsten Miller – Book Review

If you read my review of Ready Player One a couple of days ago, you might know that books about virtual reality and not-so-distant technology-advanced futures are my current favourites. So when I managed to get a proof of Otherworld by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller at YALC last year, I was instantly intrigued!

The company says Otherworld is amazing – like nothing you’ve ever seen before. They say it’s addictive – that you’ll want to stay forever. They promise Otherworld will make all your dreams come true.

Simon thought Otherworld was a game. Turns out he knew nothing. Otherworld is the next phase of reality. It’s everything you’ve ever wanted.

And it’s about to change humanity forever.
Welcome to Otherworld. No one could have seen it coming.

(more…)

Moonrise by Sarah Crossan – Book Review

Moonrise by Sarah Crossan – Book Review

Okay, yet again, I have to apologise for a month-long absence. SORRY! It’s felt like a slog to get through anything at the moment – I think a lot of people get like this when winter comes and Christmas is around the corner. I just want Christmas now! (Oh, while I’m here – what do you think of my new space-themed blog?! I love it so much. Huge thank you to my friend Joely for the illustrations!)

Anyway, recently, I stumbled upon a couple of blog posts in my Google Drive from ages ago that I’d completely forgotten about. That means that today, you get a new book review. Woooop! I’m going to be reviewing Moonrise by Sarah Crossan, and I’ve also got my review coming up for Editing Emma by Chloe Seager. Let’s go!

I picked up an ARC of Moonrise by Sarah Crossan at YALC and I was so happy. With a gorgeous cover and an intriguing synopsis, I couldn't wait to read it!

‘They think I hurt someone. 
But I didn’t. You hear?
Coz people are gonna be telling you
all kinds of lies.
I need you to know the truth.’

From one-time winner and two-time Carnegie Medal shortlisted author Sarah Crossan, this poignant, stirring, huge-hearted novel asks big questions. What value do you place on life? What can you forgive? And just how do you say goodbye?

(more…)

Heart of Mist by Helen Scheuerer – Book Review

Heart of Mist by Helen Scheuerer – Book Review

If I had to pick a favourite genre, it probably wouldn’t be fantasy. It’s not that I don’t like them; they just take me a while to read and a lot of the time, I enjoy them less than other genres like YA contemporary. However, debut author Helen Scheuerer got in touch with me recently to tell me about her new YA fantasy novel, Heart of Mist – and I HAD to read it. It sounded far too good to miss!

Not only is the cover absolutely beautiful, but the synopsis sounds great too! If you love the sound of it as much as I did, you can read an exclusive excerpt that I posted a few weeks ago or use the buy links at the end of this post.

YA fantasy isn't usually my genre of choice, but when I read the synopsis for Heart of Mist by debut author Helen Scheuerer, I just had to read it!

In a realm where toxic mist sweeps the lands and magic is forbidden, all Bleak wants is a cure for her power.

Still grieving the death of her guardian and dangerously self-medicating with alcohol, Bleak is snatched from her home by the Commander of the King’s Army, and summoned to the capital. But the king isn’t the only one interested in Bleak’s powers.

The leader of an infamous society of warriors, the Valia Kindred, lays claim to her as well, and Bleak finds herself in the middle of a much bigger battle than she anticipated.

Heart of Mist is the gripping first book in The Oremere Chronicles, a fantasy series of epic proportions.

(more…)

The Color Project by Sierra Abrams – Book Review

The Color Project by Sierra Abrams – Book Review

I’m so excited to be posting this!! I love following people’s projects from start to finish. Seeing the progress all the way through to a finished product is amazing, and that’s what I’ve done with The Color Project by Sierra Abrams. I’ve followed Sierra on Twitter for ages now, and after watching her progress as she wrote her book, she was lovely enough to give me a review copy! I wanted to get my hands on one for ages, so I was so happy when I actually did!

I was given an advance copy (by the author herself!) of The Color Project by Sierra Abrams and I was so excited to read it! Here's my review.

Synopsis

Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.
(more…)

Review: Calling Major Tom by David M. Barnett

Review: Calling Major Tom by David M. Barnett

I’ve got a new ARC to review today: Calling Major Tom by David M. Barnett. I received this ages ago and it took me a while to finally finish it, but I really liked it! The paperback is released in June this year, but it’s already available as an eBook.

My review of Calling Major Tom by David M. Barnett. If you want Bowie references and a feel-good book that will tug on your heartstrings, read this!

We all know someone like Thomas.

The grumpy next-door-neighbour who complains to the Residents’ Committee about the state of your front lawn. The man who tuts when you don’t have the correct change at the checkout. The colleague who sends an all-company email when you accidentally use the last drop of milk.

Thomas is very happy to be on his own, far away from other people and their problems.

But beneath his cranky exterior lies a story and a sadness that is familiar to us all. And he’s about to encounter a family who will change his view of the world

CALLING MAJOR TOM is a heart-warming and ultimately life-affirming story of a man who has given up on the world… but discovers in the most unlikely way that it might not have given up on him.

(more…)